Historical Fiction Author Tim Walker is my Guest Author


Please welcome my latest guest, Historical Fiction author, Tim Walker, who is going to tell us about himself, his writing, and his latest book:

Arthur, Rex Brittonum

His creative writing journey began in earnest in 2013, as a therapeutic activity whilst undergoing and recovering from cancer treatment. He began writing an historical fiction series, A Light in the Dark Ages, in 2014, following a visit to the near-by site of a former Roman town. The aim of the series is to connect the end of Roman Britain to elements of the Arthurian legend, presenting an imagined history of Britain in the fifth and early sixth centuries.

Published June 2020 – Arthur, Rex Brittonum

His new book, published in June 2020, is Arthur, Rex Brittonum, a re-imagining of the story of King Arthur (book five in the series). It follows on from 2019’s Arthur Dux Bellorum, the story of young Arthur (book four in the series), that received recognition from two sources in 2019 – One Stop Fiction Book of the Month in April, and an honourable mention in the Coffee Pot Book Club Book of the Year (Historical Fiction) Awards. The series starts with Abandoned (second edition, 2018); followed by Ambrosius: Last of the Romans (2017); and book three, Uther’s Destiny (2018). Series book covers are designed by Canadian graphic artist, Cathy Walker. Tim is self-published under his brand name, timwalkerwrites.

More about Arthur Rex Brittonum (King of the Britons):

From the decay of post-Roman Britain, Arthur seeks to unite a troubled land

Arthur Rex Brittonum (‘King of the Britons’) is an action-packed telling of the King Arthur story rooted in historical accounts that predate the familiar Camelot legend.

Britain in the early sixth century has reverted to tribal lands, where chiefs settle old scores with neighbours whilst eyeing with trepidation the invaders who menace the shore in search of plunder and settlement.

Arthur, only son of the late King Uther, has been crowned King of the Britons by the northern chiefs and must now persuade their counterparts in the south and west to embrace him. Will his bid to lead their combined army against the Saxon threat succeed? He arrives in Powys buoyed by popular acclaim at home, a king, husband and father – but can he sustain his efforts in unfamiliar territory?  It is a treacherous and winding road that ultimately leads him to a winner-takes-all clash at the citadel of Mount Badon.

Tim Walker’s Arthur Rex Brittonum picks up the thread from the earlier life of Arthur in 2019’s Arthur Dux Bellorum, but it can be read as a standalone novel.

Extract Two – Arthur Arrives at Deva

THE TOWN WALLS rose from the ground like a row of dirty grey teeth as the column crested the last hillock before spilling out onto a plain kept clear of trees. There were gaps in the crumbling wall, Arthur noted, but also something else – dark objects hanging on ropes draped from Deva’s battlements. A flock of crows took to the air at their approach, cawing a warning.

A returning scout shouted, “My lord, the walls are lined with the dead!”

The grim sight of mangled bodies encased in iron cages brought gasps of shock from the priest and other sensitive souls in the column. Arthur called a halt before a dry ditch littered with the detritus and foul smells of human waste, beneath the curious and watchful gaze of spearmen clustered on the battlements.

Deva’s gates remained open, and Arthur ordered his army to remain outside whilst he entered through the high stone gatehouse with a dozen followers and Barinthus. His hundred horsemen and a similar number of foot soldiers, with four ox-carts of supplies

Inside, curious townsfolk and lolling guards watched as they progressed along a main thoroughfare to the forum at the town’s centre. Its size and layout reminded Arthur of the other great Roman legion towns he had visited – Corinium to the south and Ebrauc to the northeast.

“Long have I wished to visit this town,” Arthur remarked to his personal guard, Herrig. The six-foot flaxen-haired Jute grunted and resumed his slow sweep of the faces lined up above them on the upper balconies of town houses, ever watchful for the glint of a blade. “The Romans controlled this island with five legions, Herrig, each of five thousand men, strategically placed in four legion towns and at The Wall. This is the home of the legion who marched over the north and west, subduing rebellions and making pacts with wary tribal chiefs. If only I could command such an army,” he added wistfully, bowing and smiling to those who cheered.

“They have gone, my king, and left their mark on your land. Now it is yours to rule,” Herrig replied in a slow, grating drawl. “These people are curious at your coming. I doubt they have many visitors.”

“Given the welcome on the walls, I doubt it too.”

They entered a square lined with people standing beside market stalls, and Arthur dismounted before the steps to a two-storey stone building dominating one side of the forum, doubtless the main administration hall. Behind him, his two banner-bearers stood, holding high his emblem of a bear and dragon grappling. Roman letters spelled, ‘ARTHUR REX BRITTONUM’, in thread of gold, for those few who could read it.

A line of six men dressed no better than the people in the streets, save for cloaks and sword belts, waited for him at the top of the steps before a pair of great oak doors. Arthur left his two bannermen with the horses and the rest climbed the worn stone steps to be greeted by a bowing steward, who requested they should surrender their swords and daggers to his guards. The great oak doors were opened by surly spearmen and they entered into a dark hall, partially lit by oil lamps on the walls and some strips of daylight through high windows of broken glass.

Birds fluttered in the rafters and cringing hounds scurried aside as Arthur strode on fouled reeds and hay strewn across the stone flags towards a raised platform on which sat a man locked in conversation with subordinates. Arthur stood patiently until the man turned to face him.

From the decay of post-Roman Britain, Arthur seeks to unite a troubled land

Arthur Rex Brittonum (‘King of the Britons’) is an action-packed telling of the King Arthur story rooted in historical accounts that predate the familiar Camelot legend.

Britain in the early sixth century has reverted to tribal lands, where chiefs settle old scores with neighbours whilst eyeing with trepidation the invaders who menace the shore in search of plunder and settlement.

Arthur, only son of the late King Uther, has been crowned King of the Britons by the northern chiefs and must now persuade their counterparts in the south and west to embrace him. Will his bid to lead their combined army against the Saxon threat succeed? He arrives in Powys buoyed by popular acclaim at home, a king, husband and father – but can he sustain his efforts in unfamiliar territory?  It is a treacherous and winding road that ultimately leads him to a winner-takes-all clash at the citadel of Mount Badon.

Tim Walker’s Arthur Rex Brittonum picks up the thread from the earlier life of Arthur in 2019’s Arthur Dux Bellorum, but it can be read as a standalone novel.

Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Mathew Harffy will enjoy Walker’s A Light in the Dark Ages series and its newest addition – Arthur Rex Brittonum.

Universal links:

Kindle: http://mybook.to/ArthurRex

i-book; Kobo; Nook; other: https://books2read.com/ArthurRexBrittonum

Paperback: http://mybook.to/ArthurRexPaperback

Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden, and Mathew Harffy will enjoy Walker’s A Light in the Dark Ages series and its newest addition – Arthur Rex Brittonum.

Universal links:

Kindle: http://mybook.to/ArthurRex

i-book; Kobo; Nook; other: https://books2read.com/ArthurRexBrittonum

Paperback: http://mybook.to/ArthurRexPaperback

More books by Tim Walker

Tim has also written two books of short stories, Thames Valley Tales (2015), and Postcards from London (2017); a dystopian thriller, Devil Gate Dawn (2016); Perverse (verse and short fiction, 2020); and two children’s books, co-authored with his daughter, Cathy – The Adventures of Charly Holmes (2017) and Charly & The Superheroes (2018) with a third in the pipeline – Charly in Space.

Find out more about the author at – http://www.timwalkerwrites.co.uk

Author Website: http://timwalkerwrites.co.uk

Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/timwalker1666

Amazon Author Page: http://Author.to/TimWalkerWrites

Facebook Page: http://facebook.com/TimWalkerWrites

Twitter: http://twitter.com/timwalker1666

Tim, thanks so much for sharing your writing and story with us all. I know my husband is a huge fan of your books and has already pre-ordered your latest.

I hope my readers enjoy your post and will discover your writing for themselves. Thanks again and good luck with all your writing projects.

1 Comment »

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.