My Guest Crime Author is Dave Sivers: His latest novel, Die in the Dark, is out 2nd March 2021…

Author photograph by Cliff Hyde at BeaconLit.
Author Dave Sivers at The Beacon Villages Festival of Books and Writing or BeaconLit.

Please welcome Dave Sivers who is thrilled to be publishing his latest book on March 2nd 2021.

I’ve asked him to tell us about himself and his latest book, Die in the Dark.

Dave Sivers grew up in West London and has been writing all his life. His books include the popular crime series featuring the Aylesbury Vale detectives, DI Lizzie Archer, and DS Dan Baines. The Scars Beneath the Soul and Dead in Deep Water were both top three bestsellers in the Amazon Kindle Serial Killers chart. In Ink, introduces DI Nathan Quarrel. Dave lives in Buckinghamshire with his wife, Chris, and is a founder of the annual BeaconLit festival of books and writing.

Giving a Series Legs

Publication 2nd March 2021

Tuesday 2 March sees the publication of my novel, Die in the Dark – and, as always, I’m both excited and apprehensive. But mostly excited. It will be my tenth published title, my ninth novel, and book six in my Archer and Baines series.

I decided over a decade ago that I wanted to write a crime series set in Buckinghamshire’s Aylesbury Vale. I not only live here, but I love it. I grew up in West London, very much a city lad, but it turns out I always had the soul of a country boy. After some head-scratching, and a couple of false starts, the characters of Lizzie Archer and Dan Baines came to me fully formed and demanding I tell their stories, and they made their debuts in The Scars Beneath the Soul in 2013.

I’ve been thrilled with the following the series has attracted, and the sometimes awesome feedback and reviews the books have received. But, six books in now, isn’t there a danger the characters will start to become a little stale?

The short answer is yes, of course there’s that danger. I’m a strong believer that a good story  needs a strong plot but also engaging characters to carry it. If readers stop caring about the characters, the plot might not be enough to hold their interest.

Lizzie and Dan:

Lizzie and Dan had both come to me with back stories that gave them some big personal issues to deal with lives and raised questions about where their lives were going. In the first book, Lizzie Archer arrives in the Vale on transfer from the Met, hoping to rebuild her life and career, which are in ruins after an arrest that went disastrously wrong, leaving her facially disfigured.

Dan Baines lost his wife to a serial killer more than a decade before that first book, and his toddler son, Jack, disappeared at the same time. He’s still haunted by dreams and waking visions of  Jack as he might be today if he was still alive.

I wanted to explore how they deal with this stuff – or don’t deal with it. How it might affect their responses to everyday situations. But it couldn’t be all that the characters were about. At the same time, I didn’t want either of them to be a hard-drinking maverick cop who can’t make a relationship work, breaks all the rules (causing The Press to Have a Field Day), and routinely gets taken off the case.

So, without any spoilers, the characters’ personal and work lives and relationships evolve over time. And I’ve explored the lives of some of the other series characters too. At the end of Too Long Gone (2019), some big changes are in the air; and the natural consequences follow through into Die in the Dark. I hope this evolution will continue to keep the series fresh and readers eager to find out what happens next.

Die in the Dark will be out in paperback and Kindle eBook on Tuesday 2 March. The eBook is available for pre-order now https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B08VH6KCLQ

The nightmare’s just beginning…

A vicious homophobic attack sees the start of a new investigation for detectives Lizzie Archer and Dan Baines. As they search for answers, another woman is found left for dead, her partner missing – and this time the victims are closer to home for the team.

Amid a desperate race to find the missing woman, Baines finds himself once again confronted by the demons he hoped he was putting behind him. It’s a distraction that could cost him his sanity – and a friend her life.

The latest in the popular Archer and Baines series, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.

Dave is in conversation with Amanda Robson on You Tube, catch it here:

Dave thanks so much for telling us about Die in the Dark. I wish you great success with it and I hope that before long the BeaconLit festival of books and writing will be up and running again and I can pop over to meet you all.

Dave has garnered praise for his writing from:.

“Fabulous stuff – as good as Peter Robinson” – Christina Jones

“Stylish, skilful, and packed with suspense” – Sharon Bolton

“Page turning crime fiction with flesh and blood characters” – Amanda Robson

“Skilfully combines pace, tension and narrative” – Vicky Newham

“Alongside the likes of McDermid and Billingham… characters you just long to know more about” – Robert F Barker

You can discover more about Dave and his books here:

Website: davesivers.co.uk

Facebook: davesiversauthor1

Twitter: @davesivers

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWDyPGpXQNHNb4Gha9e7kMA

More fab books by Dave Sivers

18 Comments »

  1. As a writer of crime novels (and poetry collections) I was very interested in Mr. Sivers interview. His straight forward reply to your questions were interesting and informative. I was glad to note that I am not alone in worrying that your readers can grow tired of your characters – and that keeping them fresh and interesting is an important part of doing the same for your books. Thank you Jane for this interview.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My pleasure James, and Dave will be delighted to read your comments I am sure. Writing a series is challenging for both writer and reader so it is wonderful when everything comes together and the characters remain fresh, Good to see you here. I have other interviews with Crime and Anti-Terror former detectives and authors in my archives if you are interested. Go to the right side of the page, to my blog archives and scroll through. I think from about 2016 onwards there are some crackers…but do go earlier if interested.

      Like

  2. I am very admiring of crime story writers, Jane. It is a very different kettle of fish to historical paranormal writing and you really need some good and interesting twists and turns. I enjoyed meeting Dave and learning about his books.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.